Happy new week!

2015 is a week old already. Makes you feel all nostalgic for the innocence of days-gone-by, doesn’t it? Ah, 2014. How young we looked… How little we knew…

I had a pretty great year (maybe I’ll do one of those Year-in-Review Top 10 Lists I used to write every January. Maybe I won’t.), but it also featured some sharp-and-pointy personal challenges, so overall I’m very glad to see it go.

Happy New Year 2015

It doesn’t hurt that I rang in 2015 on a mini-trip with my boyfriend. (I feel a little silly acknowledging this fact on the blog. So I’ll say it like I’m in middle school: booooooooyfriend. …Oh well. I’m happy; I’m dating someone who makes me feel adored, not confused. This is a change of pace that I CAN ACCEPT.)

We saw¬†Into the Woods on January 1, and it was such a happy choice for First Movie of the Year; I don’t think I stopped smiling the whole time.

I saw the Broadway revival on my high school senior trip, so Into the Woods holds a special place in my heart. (Sondheim! Vanessa Williams! Childhood stories with adult themes!)

I remember ordering the two-disc soundtrack online (2002: A time when buying¬†things online felt exotic and unusual.), and listening to it over and over. Besides beautiful music and clever lyrical wordplay, the show has themes of¬†striking out on your own and following your dreams, exorcising family demons and¬†dealing with unhappy endings‚ÄĒall of this felt close to my heart that summer before I left for college.

It’s a funny feeling to revisit something that meant¬†so much to me (in the capital-m “Meaning” sort of way) at one point in my life, and find that I can just enjoy it 12-or-so years later.

Not so bad, to realize you are no longer nineteen.

This one song still gets to me. Seeing the show in post-9/11 NYC in 2002, it felt particularly powerful. But even now, the world can feel so full of Big Bad things. Giants, witches, granny-clothed wolves: Not always what they seem.

Witches can be right. Giants can be good.
You decide what’s right. You decide what’s good.
Just remember:
Someone is on your side. Someone else is not.
While we’re seeing our side, maybe we forgot:
They are not alone.
No one is alone.

Princes, beanstalks, magic beans: None of these come with a happy-ending guarantee. Sometimes your fairy tale turns into¬†a¬†hot, hot mess and it feels like there’s nothing you can do.

Ah, but, musicals remind us, you can always sing. 

 

 

