N + O are for NO

Again, in a shameless attempt to catch up a little, I’m conveniently combining consecutive letters: N + O. (Ha. Extra shameless this time. You’ll see why.)

I remembered this post from two years ago on my previous blog (oh yes, avid reader, there’s even more than this…). I started sjworksitout.wordpress.com in 2007, to explore the process of training for my first half-marathon, and, much like this blog with its original intention of exploring books, it ended up being about running and everything else.

So two years ago I wrote this post about No Shame November, and I discovered that a handful of strangers have found their way to my blog by searching for that very phrase this year (it must be a thing…).

Turns out, I find myself seeking this same burst of inspiration I was searching for in November 2009. My life goes in these cycles, and it feels a little like Groundhog Day (or more like Groundhog Season, because the process is slower). Old feelings take me by surprise sometimes, but they never really go away. (She said with a faraway look in her eyes, like the Jimmy Stewart dog/sheriff character in Fievel Goes West. You know what I’m talking about.)

And while I never really got into Community, some of my  favorite comedy-savvy friends have told me that I should (it must be a sign).

1 NOVEMBER 2009: No Shame November

Good Lord a new month’s upon us already! Hard to believe Once A Day in May was six months ago. Maybe I need another little gimmick to get me writing regularly again…

So many bearded ones choose to celebrate “No Shave November,” so I’ve come up with a rhyming near-homonym homage: No Shame November, as in:

“she’s got no shame”: one has no susceptibility to guilt, shortcoming, or impropriety
“what a shame”: declaring a “tsk” at something to be regretted

Inspired a bit by last week’s Community (ps– that show is getting so much better. Premiere week I was skeptical, and not raving nearly as much as some folks I know. but lemmetellya Halloween episode was a delight—A delight with a nugget of wisdom, one of my favorite TV phenomena.)

If life is just a series of ridiculous attempts to be alive, you are a hero to everything that’s ever lived.
~Guy from The Soup to Chevy Chase

That’s the spirit of No Shame November. Finding as many ways, even on mundaner days, to facilitate ridiculous attempts to be alive.

On post-daylight savings fall evenings it can be far too easy for me to get gloomy. Get sleepy. Get nothing done. That’s probably true of most anyone, but I in particular become a little hibernating bear come wintertime. The cold draft wind that sneaks under my door frame is evidence that depression might be setting up a sleeping bag outside my door. After that there’s only a matter of time until it wants to come in.

I’m trying to exercise my choice in the matter. Claiming that I can overcome how I feel.

So I’ll write. Because I (like David Sedaris…and I know this because, well, he told me) feel that “nothing quite seems real to me unless I write it down.” Hoping to write my way toward waking up like Meryl Streep’s Julia Child, springing out of bed with a 5:30 alarm, ready for cooking class.

Hoping to write my way toward Bobby Darin singing “It’s Today” from Mame:

Though it may not be anyone’s birthday,
And though it’s far from the first of the year,
I know that this very minute has history in it, we’re here!

That’s right. I strive to be a lyric from a musical. No Shame November, folks.
No shame.

