A is for Addams (and adulthood via Amazon.com)

Halloween is just behind us, (turn around, yup. There it is!) and so I still have spooky things on my mind. (And in my house. I just love pumpkins and orange-&-black so much, my Halloween items transition nicely to Thanksgiving decor.)

So, with that in mind, to kick off the Alphablog Experiment:

A is for Addams

Not John Adams, or the one who went with Eve, but Charles Addams, of *click click* The Addams Family. And not the movie, or the classic TV show even, but the way-back, original New Yorker cartoons version. Don’t know what I’m talking about? Well…

Here are just a few favorites:

I found the book Addams & Evil via interlibrary loan a few years ago after some Google image searching for Halloween desktop pictures. (This was during one of my Productive Periods.) This 1940s collection was my introduction to Charles Addams and his delightfully eerie (or is it eerily delightful?) cartoons from the New Yorker. Before this, I never knew that The Addams Family was much more than Christina Ricci, Cousin It, etc.

What I love about the cartoons is something that I never really connected with in the film versions: the cleverness and heart blended with the creepiness and grotesque. It made my little Halloween-loving heart glad. And it made my regular heart glad to have found something so wonderful all by myself. Like, there’s so much out there to discover!, one of the better emotions I know.

This October I decided to pop on Amazon and see just how much A&E would set me back. (Turns out, it wasn’t much.) So I ordered a copy of my very own. And silly as it sounds, I felt a rare thrill of tangible adulthoodness as I pulled the well-preserved copy out of its well-packed envelope. Here was this object I’d borrowed from some faraway library in a faraway time, and remembered fondly ever since, and now this object is MINE.

just a typical tuesday at sj's house

So there you have it, readers. Day 1. A: Addams, adulthood, amazon.
___

Bonus feature:

This old-school CBS Sunday clip will tell you more (and show off some super sweet 90s Bill Geist antics. A is for antics):

3 thoughts on “A is for Addams (and adulthood via Amazon.com)

  1. Pingback: The blog is back. Also: Jon Hamm. | what sarah is: reading

Comments are closed.