A whole new world…

Tonight will be my last improv show at 301 Park Central East (The Skinny is moving, y’all!), and I am feeling very nostalgic over it.

My first show was September 21, 2007. I know this because 1) I took a Photo Booth photo on my new mac laptop afterwards 2) I used to keep a journal after every show (for real.) with notes about scenes, how I felt, who was there, what I learned…

Exhibit A

Exhibit B, from the next morning:

7:36 a.m.

Woke up with “A Whole New World” in my head. Have that feeling like after a really good dream, only it’s real. Last night was my first main stage show. MY FIRST MAIN STAGE SHOW. Seriously. It feels just like one of those mornings where I dreamed I, for instance, got to kiss Sean or went to Las Vegas, and I’m slightly disappointed to discover it isn’t real. ONLY IT’S REAL! It HAPPENED! and it was good. it wasn’t bad. I was even FUNNY at points. I didn’t choke. I looked good. (I smelled good, apparently…) and knowing that so many more await me…………pinch me.
I’m like a shooting star, I’ve come so far, I can’t go back to where I used to be…

(To clarify: Sean was a boy I’d had a summer fling with at camp that previous June. Sigh.)

How adorable is that?

I get a little emotional thinking of all the friends I made on that stage who have come and gone in the last 4 years.

And the friends and family who came to support me even when I wasn’t so great in those early months…

The boys who came to see me and told me I was funny, even if I wasn’t…

I saved one particular text in my “improv notes” file, from the first time Brandon came to watch me in 2007:

You are cuter than Tina, funnier than Amy,
and less ethnic looking than Mya

(How adorable is that?)

I forget sometimes how lucky I am that I’ve gotten to have my dream come true nearly every weekend for the last four years. I get to be funny in front of people. They let me do that, you guys. I’ve had ups & downs in my life since September 21, 2007 (Ups & Downs), but a consistent high has been performing on that stage with some of the best people I know.

Fall 2007 was full of firsts for me. My new laptop. New haircut. New dorm apartment. New running hobby. First half-marathon. First skydiving. New boys. New friends. And The Skinny.

That will always be special to me. So will the pre-show music, which became part of my ritual of psyching-up and calming nerves. Like this one:

Can’t you live and be thankful you’re here?
See it could be you, tomorrow, next year. 

One thought on “A whole new world…

  1. It was weird for me to walk through the old Skinny with Jenkins, a lot of good memories in that place. Thanks for opening up your journal, that was a nice entry to read. You are funny, and I have 0 to gain from telling you that. You just are.

Comments are closed.