I do, vampire weekend. I do.

Mom warning: they use colorful language in this song. But these hipsters are so #*&$-ing cool, you almost don’t notice:

Commas

Today at work I sent an email to some of my office that turned into a surprisingly colorful discussion about Oxford commas. (Oxford comma, serial comma, whatever you call the comma before “and” in a list or series. Capiche?) I was raised on MLA Style, where one puts the comma before one’s “and.” (No ifs, ands, or butts.) But AP Style, Drury’s official publishing guide, opts not to Oxford comma, except where it’s absolutely necessary for clarity. Observe: “I went to the mall with my parents, Elvis and Cher. What?! Elvis and Cher are your parents? That doesn’t make sense!” No. It doesn’t. Bad example. But you get it. I argue that the O.C. is always helpful. Why quibble over when it is or isn’t necessary. Why not just keep it in?

Okay so no big deal in the scheme of things, right? No. Of course not. But it felt GOOD to stand up for my side of things…even if I lose. (Which I probably will. #*$& it.)

Comments

Today I also got into a little scuffle of sorts over an NPR story about the debt ceiling. (I really don’t understand much about the economy. I’m okay with that. But I get miffed when I hear that the underserved may get slighted in a compromise where the rich don’t get taxed. Bugs me.) My passenger couldn’t understand why I’d get so upset “when I can’t do anything about it.”

I’ll admit it’s in my nature to become unnecessarily irate at times…about a lot of things. Inequality or unfairness, great or small. My heart wants to stand up, even if it doesn’t make sense for me to care. And especially when I can’t do anything. If I could do something, I would try. (Or I’d at least send a conversation-starter email…)

Conclusion

Tonight on Facebook I was happy to discover this quote:

“Read, every day, something no one else is reading.
Think, every day, something no one else is thinking.
Do, every day, something no one else would be silly enough to do.
It is bad for the mind to be always part of unanimity.”

— Christopher Morley (1890 – 1957)

I think about my day, and my small scale fights for commas and justice, and I feel okay that I feel different like this. Ununanimous. Giving a #%*@ even when other people might not.

Do you ever think about commas, readers? Maybe you don’t, but you can rest easy…(cue comic book hero music)…knowing there’s somebody out there who does.

7 thoughts on “I do, vampire weekend. I do.

  1. ”A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only one.” -George R.R. Martin (or one of his characters)

    I usually use the Oxford comma – I like the feeling of a slight rebellion.

  2. Don’t ever change — or change as you see fit. It’s all good. You are all good. I recommend that you should listen to Buckwheat Zydeco today (you will hear why when you hear). It will soothe that spot in your soul that has had to hear too much NPR, bad news, poverty, unworthy literature, grammar irritations, carbon footprints, etc.

  3. I’ve had 3 conversations about commas in the past week… is that overkill? Possibly. Oh well. It must be the Drury Difference (except that I’m also an avid supporter of the Oxford comma…)

Comments are closed.