No Strings

Spent this Sunday night cleaning my house with Sex & the City movie in the background, exercising two very therapeutic practices for me: chick flicks and frenzied organization.

I had a movie-filled weekend. Haven’t had one of those in a while, and it felt great, y’all! Two with friends, two by myself, as follows:
  The Big Sleep @ moxie (Bogart! Bacall! Black & white!)
  I AM @ moxie (see this. see it. go see it. go.)
  Bridesmaids @ hollywood (more to come…)
  Sex & The City @ home. (That’s happening now. You’re caught up.)

All these movie films leave me with relationships on the brain (this and every day), and I started thinking about the phrase “no strings attached” in particular as I folded some laundry. (No, I haven’t seen the Ashton Kutcher movie yet. Yes, I love that N*SYNC song.)

So Bridesmaids. I laughed. I cried. I solidified a long-growing obsession with Kristen Wiig (homegirl WROTE the movie, you guys! she wrote it!).
I’m DTR-ing my comedy girl-crush: I love her.

The only ham I'd still allow on my sandwich...WHAT?!?

She has this horrifyingly hilarious “relationship” with Jon Hamm in which he treats her like shit in return for sex on his schedule. It’s hilarious because of the way it’s presented, but it’s horrifying because it represents an icky truth: sometimes we let ourselves get away with a lot less than what we deserve. (Guys, girls, whatever. Neither side’s entirely to blame.) I blame “no strings attached” and the pervasive assumption that it’s possible and acceptable to eat your cake but not have your cake, to corrupt the cliché.

Why do we (you know, the nonspecific, culture-encompassing “we”) celebrate the lack of strings like it’s such a good thing? Strings aren’t so bad, right?
They keep our shoes on.
They let us play guitar.
They’re an essential kite ingredient.
They’ve done some innovative things for cheese.

Maybe relationship strings don’t have to tie you down. Maybe you’re a kite and they help you fly.

What do you think, readers? And/or did you see any good movies this weekend? Yeah, let’s talk about that instead. Sheesh…

5 thoughts on “No Strings

  1. I, too, saw Bridesmaids. I, too, loved it! I’d expected one thing but found totally another, straight from the opening with Jon Hamm that made me laugh and cringe. “Oh, crap, so that’s what it looked like from the outside?!”

    I used to feel like commitments of any sort were a drag. I balked at everything that was more than a single-time occurrence. Then my ex started asking me if I saw how obligations connect us to other people in very positive ways. I started looking at the people I most loved having around me and reflecting on his words. I realized that having commitments to other people means you have other people in your life that you want to keep there.

    I think some strings are good. I’m still trying to figure out just how many, but . . . “no strings” doesn’t often translate to no strings in practice!

    I wish I could just go watch the movie again right now. Dagnabit.

  2. I saw Fast Five this weekend (having never seen the third or fourth ones… [and yes that means I’ve seen the first and second… and I admit to owning the first]). Here is my half-baked string analogy: Vin Diesel and Paul Walker are puppets whose strings are being manipulated by the Hollywood machine and/or their greedy desire for even more money. I guess that means the strings are bad in this case. But I really like all of your ways in which strings are good.

  3. Bridesmaids is extremely funny and I love every part of it. Especially the plane scene and the one where Annie and Helen are trying to get Nathan’s attention.

Comments are closed.