Don’t Get Me Wrong

Today I received a blog assignment via text message. What a treat! Feel free to do likewise, readers. Turns out I respond well to assignments, and I guess I always have…at least as a student. In “The Office” terms, school-me was part Angela, part Jim…a little up-tight, a lot cat-loving, but a smirky, in-on-the-joke likable guy underneath it all. (Girl. You know what I mean.)

Idea for a blog post from you and your wonderfully English and grammar-minded brain: overuse of the phrase “don’t get me wrong” why is its use so prevalent? Does it come from lack of confidence in one’s writing abilities?? etc… I expect you to use your clever wit while exploring this, if you so choose to explore it. :)

Well, tell a girl she’s got clever wit and she’ll choose to explore anything you want.*

Off the topsies, this phrase makes me think of ^ that 80s Pretenders song ^ featured as background music in Bridget Jones’ Diary — when Bridge is being all office-sexy with vile Daniel Cleaver, “suggest management sick, not skirt.” Ugh! So good.

But I have a feeling my friend finds no qualms with pop culture references and instead has problems with the everyday conversational usage of “Don’t Get Me Wrong.”

I have to admit, I don’t think this phrase is so overused in my social circle, or if it is, I just don’t notice it. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve heard it before. (JK! LOL!)

He speculates it has something to do with lack of confidence…and I think he’s onto something. I wonder if this phrase is used more often by men or women…
If it has something to do with a motivation to avoid conflict or foster community, my guess would be women. Because in general we ladies use conversation to connect, and we also tend to have less confidence re: our opinions. In general.
(In general.)

Hold on, though, for a tangent that will hopefully make itself relevant:

During my drive home from Chicago, I listened to Conan O’Brien on Marc Maron’s “WTF” podcast, which stands for what you think it stands for, and gives cool insight into the lives & minds of working comedians. (Celebrities! They’re just like us!!)
Conan talked a bit — as he did on his final NBC show — about the popular tendency toward cynicism, especially on social media. There’s a whole lot of self-protection against sincerity, it seems, in my generation. We protect ourselves from the risk of caring about something by either LOVING or HATING it. Not truly loving, even, “obsessing” maybe? Everything is the BEST or the WORST, but rarely a little of both, or a little “maybe I’m not sure about that yet.”

I’ve seen some pleas for ambiguity or nuance on Facebook in the wake of Sunday night’s news…it’s like 140-character conversations force us into black-and-white, when we all know the world is much more colorful than that.

So, to get back to the original question, I guess “DGMW” doesn’t bother me all that much, because I don’t mind the humility it implies. A little “no, after you.” A little “I may not be entirely sure how I feel about this, and I don’t want you to feel excluded when I say it.”

Now, say it too much and, don’t get me wrong, I’ll slap a bitch. People who use phrases too much are the WORST and I HATE them.**

*some restrictions apply.
**(JK! LOL!)

One thought on “Don’t Get Me Wrong

Comments are closed.