2.10 Most Major Movie Moves

Last week Mindy Kaling (Kelly on The Office, writer for The Office, hilarious tweeter, life model, etc.) tweeted:

@mindykaling This is my favorite moment from any movie. He’ll win an Oscar for stuttering, but this is what I go to movies for: http://youtu.be/IS8UffaEf60
(it’s a clip from Bridge Jones Diary, which youtube won’t let me embed. Click through to watch Colin Firth say, “I like you, just as you are.” Swoon 1/2.)

I’m a sucker for romance in the movie films myself. In that spirit, I’ve made a Top 10 list of my favorite romantic movie moments (not necessarily from “romantic movies.”):

1) High Fidelity
John Cusack’s speech about getting over the fantasy is spot on, but what really kills me about this movie is the end. Like, the very end. The credits. I love it all, but for me the most romantic part is Stevie Wonder singing “I Believe (When I Fall in Love With You It Will Be Forever)” over the concert poster credits. It’s just such a perfect end. Fellas, take note. That song is a deal maker.

2) Bridge Jones’ Diary
I love this movie. (And book. Love. Love.) But the particular mmm-worthy moment I’m thinking of is at the vrrry end when Bridget looks up at Mark Darcy, bewildered, and says, “nice boys don’t kiss like that.” And he replies…well, I won’t repeat it. I’m a lady. But, you guys. My heart just sped up.

3) Singin’ in the Rain
Gene Kelly, be in my life! When he sings in the soundstage with the sunset lights and the ladder and the “you were meant for me.” That man is perfection.

4) Magnolia
Not a light & breezy romance film by any stretch of the imagination. Still, it has its moments of hope in love, I think. (Good ol’ P.T.A. is a master of hope within the bleakest of situations.) That last shot when John C. Reilly is talking to the girl, and we can’t hear what he’s saying but we have a good idea. At the last second she looks at the camera and smiles. It’s perfect.

5) It’s A Wonderful Life
You guys. When George and Mary are sharing the phone and it’s all tense and he’s all, “I don’t need to marry anybody, you hear me?” It’s a little Too Hot For TV (at least for the 40s in a Frank Capra film). Jimmy Stewart, yell at me some more.

6) Wall-E
Romance in a Pixar movie? If you have to ask that question, you and I have very different experiences with Pixar. Just picture Wall-E + Eva on a gondola. That little robot knows how to woo a girl better than some humans I’ve encountered. (This moment is followed closely by the Pixar movie runner-up: the montage at the beginning of UP. c’mon now.)

7) Once
What part of this movie isn’t dripping with romance & heartache? I don’t want to give anything away–odds are many of you haven’t seen this–but, the last shot. Gets me every time. And the soundtrack. Top shelf.

8) When Harry Met Sally
Billy Crystal’s speech at the end. It does not get better. Somebody please run to me just before midnight on New Year’s Eve and tell me, “when you’ve found the person you want to spend the rest of your life with, you want the rest of your life to begin as soon as possible.” Please. I don’t ask for much.

9) Wet Hot American Summer
First of all, hilarity is sexy. Second of all, David Wain’s brand of hilarity is super sexy. Third of all, the moment when Michael Showalter & Whats Her Name swap jackets is so sweet and dorky. It’s exactly how summer love (or any love) should be.

10) Moulin Rouge
I remember seeing this movie in theaters when it came out–the same year I got my first kiss. *sigh* No coincidence that I still associate this movie with catching my breath. It’s so different and unusual and beautiful and sad.
…like love. Oh, I said it. (And don’t bother doing the math. I was 17.)

Any favorites I missed, dear readers?

11 thoughts on “2.10 Most Major Movie Moves

  1. I’m a huge fan of Richard Curtis (who also wrote the screen play of Bridget Jones). He wrote Four Weddings and a Funeral, Notting Hill and my all time favourite, Love Actually (which he also directed). Every scene in that film could be an all time moment. I have so many favourites from the sign “To Me You Are Perfect”, to Uncle Jamie’s (Colin Firth) foreign language proposal, to Hugh Grant’s drive to the “dodgy end”…. I can’t get enough of it.

  2. Big Fish when he buys all those flowers for her. 
    Juno when he lays down in the hospital bed next to her in his track spikes. 
    Disney dog movies (tie) – Lady and the Tramp spaghetti kiss, 101 Dalmatians where they first meet in the park.

    I prefer the movies with the happy yet unexpected endings. That means Moulin Rouge is out for me. And John Cusack’s character does some pretty unforgivable things in High Fidelity, although I especially like how he grows up at the end.

    There are a few other good scenes that escape me at the moment. I’ll try to check back in later.

  3. I know this is so girly that even I can’t almost relate, BUT my favorite is the end of Sense and Sensibility when Colonel Brandon is reading to Marianne some poem that ends, “…for there is nothing lost that may be found, if sought.”
    Of course, Alan Rickman has much to do with why I love this scene, but it’s also because Marianne’s character FINALLY realizes what she has in such a faithful suitor (after Willoughby thoroughly dashes her heart to bits) – but it gets me every time.

  4. Everyone back away, I got this:

    1. Atonement. Compare love making in the library to grazing hands years later in a crowded cafe. The passion and sexual magnetism in both are somehow equally as strong. God bless, Joe Wright.

    2. Pride and Prejudice. Mr. Darcy walks across the field. That is all.

    3. An Affair to Remember. Nickie follows Terry back up the stairs of the boat and they kiss—as we are lead to assume, since the kiss is out of frame and all we see are their legs.

    4. Moonstruck. After the Opera, Ronnie yells at Loretta outside his apartment, “Now I want you to come upstairs, and GET IN MY BED!” It sounds rapey out of contest but is quite breathtaking.

    This is how I spent my sick day.

Comments are closed.