2.1 Groundhog Day

…is tomorrow. I know, but I watched the movie tonight on instant Netflix. I suggest you make the most of your SNOWednesday tomorrow and do likewise.

February is here, everyone! Today I thought it might be fun to write a little something about luuuuv every day between now and Valentine’s Day. You know, a little “cannot do / teach” sort of situation.

So let us begin: Groundhog Day.

 

Groundhog Day

Dear Bill Murray, you can hang around in my old-timey clock anytime. xoxo sj

I don’t think anybody would call Groundhog Day a chick flick (though a chick flick starring Bill Murray kind of intrigues me. He made Garfield 2: A Tail of Two Kitties. Nothing’s impossible. And yes, it’s supposed to be “Tail”), but it is arguably still a movie about love.

Curled up tonight with some mint milanos, some wine & my cat, I felt a special connection to Phil Connors’ facing the same obstacles over and over and over again.

It’s something that Oprah has said, and that I have learned of late, that life will keep giving you the same lessons to learn until you really learn from them…

I also wondered how many times, exactly, Phil relives the day. An IMDB search tells me the director estimated he’s in Punxsutawney for 10 years…makes sense for the learning of French and the playing of piano and the making of the ice sculptures. So.

Back to the love business. The first time Phil and Rita go on their snowman date, I actually started to cry just a little. Just go there with me for a second: the thought of someone spending days and days getting to know you, trying to figure out exactly what makes you happy. And then slow-dancing to Ray Charles in a gazebo in the snow…

It seems so perfect, doesn’t it?

But there’s a reason Andie MacDowell smells a rat (groundhog?): perfection like that is not what love’s about.
Thanks to days of research in the magical Groundhog Day world, he’s able to guess exactly what she wants at any given moment, able to deliver it without any guesses, with no surprises. Where’s the fun in that?

That’s what makes the end so sweet. When he asks, What can I do for your today? He’s curious. He really doesn’t know. But he wants to find out.

le sigh.

Here’s another fun tidbit from IMDB:

The French poem Phil recites in the restaurant translates into English as:

The girl I will love / is like a fine wine /
that gets a little better / every morning.

Loving the hell out of facts like that: this is a thing my Phil Connors will learn about me.

3 thoughts on “2.1 Groundhog Day

  1. This is full of good advice because that movie is outstanding and tomorrow is going to be a terribly boring snow-day.

    This is full of good advice because that movie is outstanding and tomorrow is going to be a terribly boring snow-day.

    This is full of good advice because that movie is outstanding and tomorrow is going to be a terribly boring snow-day.

    This is full of good advice because that movie is outstanding and tomorrow is going to be a terribly boring snow-day.

  2. HAHAHAHAHA!! Just got done watching this movie alone today too! I had a whiskey snow cone instead of wine though!!!!

Comments are closed.