sunday night moment of zen

Peaceful and pithy, brought to you by Miss Janie (from yoga class) and Carrie Bradshaw (from some episode when she’s getting over Big, again).

“because i am so rarely there, the most exotic place on earth is where i am right now.”

“maybe the past is like an anchor holding us back. maybe you have to let go of who you were to become who you will be.”

Big Race is 40 days away. It’s a biblical span of days, no? I have high hopes for these 40 days. I hope to prove to myself that one need not wander in the wilderness or flood the whole world in order to accomplish big things. I want to enjoy some change, for a change.

This morning I had an epiphany of sorts. (that’s right. a real, live honest-to-goodness epiphany.) No lighting bolt or voice from the sky; just a little tap-on-the-shoulder of an idea that came to me and stuck. Like someone passed my brain a note and I kept reading it over and over:

what if today was the day you started removing the barriers to your creativity & happiness?

Sure it’s a little Oprah / Hallmark / Eat Pray Love / Duh. But it works for me. And that’s all a mantra needs to do.

One thought on “sunday night moment of zen

Comments are closed.