i’m online. where is my mind.

When life causes you to quote Meg Ryan lines twice in 30 seconds, you blog about it.

First, I found a NYT article that eerily mirrors an epiphany of sorts that I had at work today. So I felt a little like the universe was hitting the “like” button on my mental status. And instantly heard Sleepless in Seattle Meg Ryan (Annie.) talking with her mother when she rips the old wedding dress:

: It’s a sign!
: You don’t believe in signs…

Then I wondered for a bit about how easily I conjure movie lines to describe my life experiences. And that made me think of Kathleen Kelly (You’ve Got Mail Meg Ryan) as she narrates a melancholy email to NY152:

So much of what I see reminds me of something I read in a book, when shouldn’t it be the other way around?

(Sidenote: Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan, riiight? A midlife romance story-line is way overdue.)

The aforementioned epiphany of sorts is this: there is no better cure for zombie-brain than a quick walk outdoors.

See, I spend much of my workdays staring at a computer. I click. I read. I click. I type. Sometimes it feels like I blink twice and an hour has passed. Today I hit a 4:00 wall, so I walked to the library and, wouldn’t you know it, as my legs moved so did my mind. I was conscious of a new clarity after just a few seconds in the heat and the sunlight and the trees (all those things that can’t be “minimized”).

The mirroring article is YOUR BRAIN ON COMPUTERS: Studying the Brain Off the Grid, Professors Find Clarity. Maybe a little ironic that i found the article on twitter thanks to @lisaling, since it’s all about the constant deluge of digital information and its effect on brain function and attention.

If you have a few minutes, you should read it. (maybe a little ironic that I’m asking you to leave my blog post about e-TMI to go read an article online…ps, I think I just coined the syndrome* name for the fatigue and distractibility brought on by too much e-information. e-TMI. You’re welcome, pharmaceutical marketers.) The article follows a group of brain scientists as they disconnect from their networks and reconnect with nature.

It made me think. And reinforced my idea that a walk or two during the workday (and not just a get-there-go-here walk) may be essential for, as the article says, “a little downtime as a path to uncluttered thinking.”

Uncluttered Thinking. Doesn’t that just sound like nirvana**?

*Syndrome. Can’t NOT think about The Incredibles. See above.
**or Teen Spirit. See? I can’t help myself!

