laugh and ye shall receive.

So here’s how it went down:

I pull up to the Starbucks drive-thru window.
Cheerful dude’s voice gives the usual “hello, welcome…would you like to try one of our new soy vanilla frappuccinos?” Only it’s more chipper than usual—even for Starbucks.
So I say, “no, but you did a good job selling it, though!” (swear i wasn’t flirting. purely observational.)
I hear some snickering in the background and take my sweet time making up my mind.
Coupla moments pass, and the voice comes back, telling me that if it’d help me make up my mind, my drink is on the house.
“We-ell!” I say, “I’ll have one of EVERYTHING!” (nonstop charm, people.)
Feeling grateful but not adventurous, I order my usual skinny skim iced caramel macchiato, but I do change my usual tall to a grande. For flourish.
I pull around and the baristas explain that they had this running bet going, because Mr. Chipper Voice has an above-average success rate with obscure order suggestions. I was the lucky drive-through driver-upper who, while I didn’t take the bait, did make them laugh.
And that was enough.

So. There’s some sort of life lesson here, isn’t there…
Always, always flirt with strangers?
Sometimes being cheeky gets you free stuff?
Starbucks employees, left to their own devices, give out free drinks willy-nilly?
Corporations may be cold and indifferent, but people can still surprise and delight?
Drinking coffee at night makes me blog long after bedtime?

4 thoughts on “laugh and ye shall receive.

  1. I’m gonna have to try that. Only with Chick-fil-a. The only problem I foresee is that most Chick-fil-a employees are around age 15 or 16, making it more than questionable for me to “flirt”– even if it’s fake flirting for the sake of free product. :-/

    Ah, well…I guess I’ll just have to pay for my chicken sandwiches like every other good American…

  2. Sarah, you are one kooky knucklehead. And I mean that in the most reverential terms of those words.

  3. Always, always flirt with strangers? – I flirted with him and got hot coffee in my lap. Law… SUIT!
    Sometimes being cheeky gets you free stuff? – Yes, for SJ.
    Starbucks employees, left to their own devices, give out free drinks willy-nilly? – Yep. And ‘willy-nilly’ is only available in June.
    Corporations may be cold and indifferent, but people can still surprise and delight? – Yes, people are surprising and delightful, corporations are for money and profit. I like both ;)
    Drinking coffee at night makes me blog long after bedtime? – It makes me fall asleep. Dang.

Comments are closed.