hug a tree

From time to time I sing the praises of working at a university, and today is another one of those days. There was an email from Drury’s ThinkGreen! club today about a 100th birthday celebration for a black walnut tree on campus. (Birthday party for a tree? I’m there!)

Trees on Drury campus

I work on a tree farm.

Unfortunately, I was in meetings until 4:00, and the 2:00-5:00 event ran out of cake before I could get there. They kiddos did leave a sign behind with tree facts, and the following message:

Trees are made of wood and leaves. They get lonely and love hugs.

Isn’t that the cutest? I love students. (Or, more specifically, nerds who make signs like that. They are what I aspire to be.)

I didn’t get cake, but I did take a minute to notice the tree. Really notice it. I put my hand on its bark, and thought it isn’t every day I get to touch something 100 years old and ALIVE. (A plaque at the tree’s base is dated 1910, dedicated in honor of Drury’s first president.) Pretty cool.

One thought on “hug a tree

Comments are closed.