New Yorker state of mind

I’ve been thinking a lot about twitter lately. well, i suppose i shouldn’t say “a lot” should i? “thinking a lot about twitter” implies that i maybe need to adjust my priorities. So what I mean is I think a lot about:
–the immediacy and abundance of information available to me
–how to curate my online life (that’s a big function of twitter for me: find information, share information, preserve information.)
–whether there can be too much of a good thing…

This piece from the New Yorker by George Packer captures some of my twanxiety. (oh, I’ll coin that. watch me.)
Blessing and curse, this New Yorker online. Lots of great stuff to read, not enough time to devote to it.

Packer asserts his twepidation, (i love that one.)

The notion of sending and getting brief updates to and from dozens or thousands of people every few minutes is an image from information hell.

He argues that the constant stream of information, into which we are expected to plunge whenever we please, could end up drowning us.

Who doesn’t want to be taken out of the boredom or sameness or pain of the present at any given moment? That’s what drugs are for, and that’s why people become addicted to them.

I agree. There’s danger for twaddiction here. (last one. I promise.)
A constant wondering of, “what did i miss?” can’t be healthy long-term. An ever-growing to do list is mentally stressful, even if the “do” is something I really enjoy. I’ve talked about the finite number of books I can read in a lifetime. There also must be a finite number of articles, sites, interesting ideas one can ingest in a lifetime; in a day.

Twitter doesn’t allow for a finite number. For me the danger of twitter isn’t all the junk. (I choose not to follow those in whom i have no interest.) The danger is there’s so much good. Every second there’s something new to read.
Something valuable to learn.
Someone interesting to discover.
I need to set those limits for myself or risk mental gluttony.

Of course as you set your own limits, I invite you to please keep my blog in your online life…

Neat note:
Anytime you copy and paste from newyorker.com, this follows along with your pasted item:
Read more: http://www.newyorker.com/online/blogs/georgepacker/2010/01/stop-the-world.html#ixzz0fdPTim6B
So smart. They’re prepared for sharing.

One thought on “New Yorker state of mind

  1. Amen! For me, I’m tired of trying to condense my life into 140 characters… as well as belittling the importance of others’ lives that stretch past a tweet. :)

Comments are closed.