i like rilke

Hi there, reader friends:

Sometimes I wish I had all the time in the world to hang out in blogland, just reading and thinking about life and e-conversing with folks who curious-out over the same things I do…(that’s you)…

Most of the time I have that wish in the midst of actually doing many other things. But today I pause in the middle of my “many other things” and I have time for just the quickest of posts about just the quickest of reads. because inspiration or truth can strike at any moment…even within a Gchat status.

That’s right, a bestie-best-long-distance-pal (I don’t even like the word bestie…but i guess now I do…) had a neato quotation as her G-chat status. (which I drifted over to whilst checking my Gmail. I don’t even Gchat, people! this just adds to the whimsy of the moment-of-discovery!)

Ahem, quote:

i beg you…to have patience with everything unresolved in your
heart. and try to love the questions themselves as if they were locked
rooms or books written in a very foreign language. don’t search for
the answers, which could not be given to you now, because you would
not be able to live them. and the point is, to live…everything.
live the questions now. perhaps then, someday far in the future, you
will gradually, without even noticing it, live your way into the
answer. — rainer maria rilke

that rilke, y’all. He KNEW WHAT’S UP. (If you haven’t read his Letters to a Young Poet, what are you doing HERE? go read it right NOW! Yes i am e-yelling AT YOU!!)

What mid-20s human doesn’t need to hear “live the questions” every now and then? (Or, if you’re superneurotic like moi, every DAY.) I was flustered-as-can-be circa 5:18 pm tonight (rushing to Statistics class at 5:20, in the rainy-snow, feeling hungry and tired, with my brain still hovering somewhere near my work desk…), but I took a few seconds to realize “it’s all going to be okay. all this zaniness will pay off.”

Live…everything.