work it out

Oh, January…the time for setting resolutions and getting serious about exercise plans…

It’s over. It’s February. Let’s get real.

Every few months I make up my mind that I am Going To Get In Shape… it’s usually in the off-months of running. the cold months. snowy months. like last month(s).
I set these bizarre personal workout goals, always with a catchy title, whenever i start to feel like the “before” photo on a Lose Your Gut web ad.

Example: after watching the new Daniel Craig version of Bond after Christmas 2006, I devised “Built Like a Bond Girl in ‘007” (oh you better believe it!)

Most recently I was watching American Idol (oh you better believe that, too) and I had a moment over some auditioner’s tiny frame, “look at her tiny little 18 yr old legs…i had those once!” No doubt I lamented myself straight into a box of cheez-its. I don’t recall.

The Writing Diet

The Writing Diet, image from amazon.com

This time last year I read The Writing Diet by Julia Cameron (Ms. Artist’s Way)

This book gave me the words “food hangover” and introduced “clean eating” and extolled “morning pages”–all of which sound a bit buzzwordsy, self-helpsy mumbo-jumboish, but are actually helpful ways to look at the whole picture of life. What I eat…
How I feel…
What I write…
they all interact, react, and work together (or against each other) for my creative and physical health.
Just flipping back through it makes me want to read it again. I just might. After all, running season is coming soon, and I need to keep choosing mindfulness over marshmallows…

