it’s the most wonderful time

Here it is December 1, 2009. Can you believe it?

Tis the season when our hearts grow three sizes (and our bank accounts shrink by at least the same margin).

I falalalala love it.

This year I’m doing what I wanted to (but didn’t get around to) last year: write something about the season during December. (I would say “every day”, but I know strict terms like that can lead to disappointment, and an eventual doing of nothing at all.)
In hopes to, a la David Sedaris (Holidays on Ice), Jean Shepard (his stories inspired A Christmas Story), Truman Capote (A Christmas Memory) before me, capture some of my own personal holiday history. And hopefully, through pausing to think about it all, make the season slow down just a bit.

And I’ll make it fit into the blog, of course. I’ve got lots of holiday reading to do!
A Literary Christmas which i picked up in Memphis last summer
Sedaris’ HOI (my signed copy!)
Dickens’ A Christmas Carol (a nifty vintage used book find)

Plus the movies. All the movies movies movies movies!
Elf, Scrooged, White Christmas, It’s A Wonderful Life, A Christmas Story, Muppet Christmas Carol…
where will i find the time?!

there’s much to do. between the shopping and crafting and watching and reading…and writing…hopefully…it’s going to be a good Christmas season.

