And so I’ll try this again, again.

How strange to return to a blog after (oh, let’s be honest here) at least six months.

That’s a long time to put off a good idea. Too long.

I’m wrapping up my last half-hour of the work week, reading the first chapter of Half The Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide. Reading at work?? you say. Well, it’s technically for a story in the next issue of Drury Magazine. Somehow I was able to swing it that I’m writing a story on women’s issues in the world, for the issue themed Women at Drury (sorta my idea). I feel like I’m getting away with a big pulled-one-over-on-the-man here, writing about something I’m currently passionate about…sneaky, sneaky.

But I’m a big believer in Rumi’s philosophy:

let the beauty of what you love be what you do.

so maybe it’s not such a radical idea.

I thought about returning to this blog because I’m sitting here reading this book (in my newly IKEA decorated and climate-controlled office, sipping my filtered water) whose first chapter is about sex slavery worldwide.

Kristof and WuDunn are ballsy, indeed, choosing not to tiptoe around these issues. Starting with the big stuff. It’s humbling and angering and empowering all at once—which I think is their point. As they say in the intro:

The plight of girls is no more a tragedy than an opportunity.

I constantly feel like I’m not living up to my ideas. Like I put things off and let myself down. I disappoint. I leave behind. But can’t I turn my own tragedy into opportunity, too? It’s not too late to ignite this good idea.

So here we go.
I’m reading Half The Sky.
(and One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest, and The Seeker’s Guide: Making Your Life A Spiritual Adventure)
(and Harper’s Bazaar–Tina Fey’s on the cover)

I’ll be back.

